General settings screen on SYNC 3

A master reset returns the SYNC® 3 system to the factory settings. If you experience problems with the SYNC 3 system, you can perform a master reset. A master reset also erases all personalized information such as paired phone or Bluetooth® devices and destinations or navigation points of interest.3 ,27 , 43

Before you start

There are a few things you should do before starting step 1:

  • Your vehicle must be in Park and running, not in Accessory mode.

  • Please make note of addresses, routes and destinations before performing a master reset. The process will erase all personalized information.

  • Disconnect or remove any USB devices that are connected to your vehicle's USB ports.

  1. Press Settings in the Feature bar at the bottom of the screen.

  2. Press the General icon (you may have to swipe to the next screen).

  3. Press the Scroll bar or swipe vertically until you see Master Reset. Press Master Reset.

  4. A message confirming that all system settings will be erased and reset to factory defaults will appear. Press Continue.

  5. A “Resetting to factory defaults” message will appear, the system will turn off and the screen will go blank. It may take a few minutes for the system to reset and resume normal operation.

Quick Tip

Things to do after a master reset

Once you’ve performed a master reset, you’ll need to pair your phone and download your phonebook contacts. You’ll also have to re-enter any saved Navigation points (if equipped with Navigation).

If you experience problems with phone pairing after you install the update, try performing a “clean” pairing. First, delete SYNC from your phone’s list of paired Bluetooth® devices. Then pair your phone as you would normally.